- © Menschhorn

Customs and traditions

© Menschhorn @ Bräuche und Traditionen im Salzkammergut

Down to Earth – like its inhabitants

Why do you suddenly give gingerbread hearts with sweet sayings in spring? Why do people with colourful caps run through the dark nights after New Year? And what is the lake procession in Hallstatt all about? Questions upon questions.

In addition to its scenic beauty, the Salzkammergut is also known for its ancient customs and traditions, which exist only in this form here. Reason enough to take a closer look at the most important customs, from the “Glöcklerläufen” and “Liabstattsonntag” through to the magnificent Corpus Christi procession on Lake Hallstatt.

History with a touch of Imperial and Royal, tradition inwrought with contemporary art, culture with a distinctive touch of customs.

Below you will find more about typical customs from the UNESCO World Heritage region of Hallstatt Dachstein Salzkammergut and the surrounding holiday regions. We also introduce you to the Salzkammergut's most beautiful traditional events. We look forward to welcoming you to a rendezvous of tradition and modernity in the Salzkammergut.

More World Heritage

From miners and caps"

© Kraft | Gelebtes Brauchtum in der Ferienregion Dachstein Salzkammergut: : Glöcklerläufe

The Corpus Christi Procession on Lake Hallstatt

Tour from Nativity Scene to Nativity Scene

Fiery memories - The "Krambamperlbrennen"

Carneval season in the Salzkammergut

Solstice bonfire in the Salzkammergut

© Hoermandinger  < Sonnwendfeuer im Salzkammergut

World Heritage Events

Sun, Jun. 23, 2024 Valley station of the Salzberg cable car, Hallstatt

Mon, Jun. 24, 2024 16:30 — 17:30 Tourist office of Hallstatt, Seestraße 114 Hallstatt

Tue, Jun. 25, 2024 10:00 Museum Anzenaumill (Anzenaumühle), Anzenau Bad Goisern

Tue, Jun. 25, 2024 19:30 Kurpark Bad Ischl, Bad Ischl

Sat, Jun. 29, 2024 15:00 — 16:00 Boat landing stage "Navia" Hallstatt, Seestraße 89 Hallstatt

Sat, Jun. 29, 2024 20:00 Market Square Hallstatt (Marktplatz Hallstatt), Marktplatz Hallstatt

Tue, Jul. 2, 2024 10:00 Museum Anzenaumill (Anzenaumühle), Anzenau Bad Goisern

Wed, Jul. 3, 2024 20:00 Kalvarienberg, Gosau

Sun, Jul. 7, 2024 11:00 — 19:00 Zwieselalm, Gosau

Thu, Jul. 11, 2024 19:30 Kirchenwirt Gosau, Gosau 2 Gosau

Sun, Jul. 14, 2024 11:00 Gasthof Gosauschmied, Gosau 57 Gosau

Thu, Jul. 18, 2024 19:00 — 21:00 Kurt`s Mammut Express, Bahnhofstraße 88 Obertraun

Sat, Jul. 20, 2024 11:00 Lake Gosau (Gosausee), Gosau

Sat, Jul. 27, 2024 19:00 Lido Untersee, Bad Goisern

Thu, Aug. 1, 2024 19:00 Lido Obertraun, Obertraun

Sat, Aug. 10, 2024 12:00 Festgelände Traunau, Obertraun

Thu, Aug. 15, 2024 10:00 — 19:00 Badergraben, Badergraben Hallstatt

Thu, Aug. 15, 2024 11:00 Zwieselalm, Gosau

Fri, Aug. 23, 2024 Bad Goisern, Bad Goisern

Sat, Aug. 24, 2024 19:30 Moosalm, Mittertal 384 Gosau

Sun, Sep. 8, 2024 11:00 Kirchenwirt Gosau, Gosau 2 Gosau

Fri, Sep. 13, 2024 19:00 Market Square Hallstatt (Marktplatz Hallstatt), Marktplatz Hallstatt

Sun, Sep. 15, 2024 11:00 Rossmoosalm, Bad Goisern

Sat, Sep. 21, 2024 Festgelände Edt, St. Agatha Bad Goisern

Sat, Sep. 21, 2024 13:00 Moosalm, Mittertal 384 Gosau

Sat, Sep. 28, 2024 09:00 Alpine Iglmoos (Iglmoosalm), Gosau

Sat, Oct. 5, 2024 13:00 Gosau, Gosau

Sun, Oct. 13, 2024 11:00 Zwieselalm, Gosau

Sat, Nov. 30, 2024 13:00 — 19:00 Homeland museum Gosau, Gosau

Wed, Dec. 4, 2024 17:00 — 20:00 Market square Hallstatt and idyllic streets, Marktplatz Hallstatt

Thu, Dec. 5, 2024 18:00 — 23:00 Market square Hallstatt and idyllic streets, Marktplatz Hallstatt

Sat, Dec. 7, 2024 19:00 Marketplace Bad Goisern, Marktplatz Bad Goisern

Sun, Dec. 8, 2024 10:00 — 18:30 Market Square Hallstatt (Marktplatz Hallstatt), Marktplatz Hallstatt

Sat, Dec. 14, 2024 10:00 — 18:00 Salzkammergut Hand.Werk.Haus, Rudolf-von-Alt-Weg 6 Bad Goisern

Tue, Dec. 24, 2024 16:00 Market Square Hallstatt (Marktplatz Hallstatt), Marktplatz Hallstatt

Sun, Dec. 29, 2024 17:00 — 20:00 Town square Obertraun (Gemeindeplatz), Obertraun 180 Obertraun

Sun, Jan. 5, 2025 16:45 Town square Obertraun (Gemeindeplatz), Obertraun 180 Obertraun

Sun, Jan. 5, 2025 17:00 — 19:00 Bad Ischl, Bad Ischl

Sun, Jan. 5, 2025 20:00 Marketplace Bad Goisern, Marktplatz Bad Goisern

Sun, Mar. 30, 2025 15:00 Festival hall Bad Goisern, Obere Marktstraße 11 Bad Goisern

Thu, Jun. 19, 2025 06:00 — 09:00 Hallstatt, Hallstatt

Thu, Jun. 19, 2025 09:00 Hallstatt, Hallstatt

Search and Book