- © Menschhorn

Customs and traditions

© Menschhorn @ Bräuche und Traditionen im Salzkammergut

Down to Earth – like its inhabitants

Why do you suddenly give gingerbread hearts with sweet sayings in spring? Why do people with colourful caps run through the dark nights after New Year? And what is the lake procession in Hallstatt all about? Questions upon questions.

In addition to its scenic beauty, the Salzkammergut is also known for its ancient customs and traditions, which exist only in this form here. Reason enough to take a closer look at the most important customs, from the “Glöcklerläufen” and “Liabstattsonntag” through to the magnificent Corpus Christi procession on Lake Hallstatt.

History with a touch of Imperial and Royal, tradition inwrought with contemporary art, culture with a distinctive touch of customs.

Below you will find more about typical customs from the UNESCO World Heritage region of Hallstatt Dachstein Salzkammergut and the surrounding holiday regions. We also introduce you to the Salzkammergut's most beautiful traditional events. We look forward to welcoming you to a rendezvous of tradition and modernity in the Salzkammergut.

More World Heritage

From miners and caps"

© Kraft | Gelebtes Brauchtum in der Ferienregion Dachstein Salzkammergut: : Glöcklerläufe

The Corpus Christi Procession on Lake Hallstatt

Fiery memories - The "Krambamperlbrennen"

Carneval season in the Salzkammergut

Tour from Nativity Scene to Nativity Scene


World Heritage Events

Sun, Jul. 3, 2022 Salzshop Hallstatt (Bus terminal), Seestraße Hallstatt

©  Kraft | Wöchentliche Führungen durch Hallstatt

Sun, Jul. 3, 2022 Valley station of the Salzberg cable car, Hallstatt

©Krauß/www.hallstatt.net | Wöchentliche Führungen durch Hallstatt

Mon, Jul. 4, 2022 16:30 — 18:00 Tourist office of Hallstatt, Seestraße 114 Hallstatt

©Krauß/www.hallstatt.net | Wöchentliche Führungen durch Hallstatt

Wed, Jul. 6, 2022 20:00 Kalvarienberg, Gosau

© Kraft.Hallstatt

Sat, Jul. 9, 2022 16:30 Tourist office of Hallstatt, Seestraße 114 Hallstatt

©  Tourismusverband Dachstein Salzkammergut

Sat, Jul. 9, 2022 20:00 Market Square Hallstatt (Marktplatz Hallstatt), Marktplatz Hallstatt

Thu, Jul. 14, 2022 19:30 Lido Obertraun, Obertraun

© Kraft

Sat, Jul. 30, 2022 19:00 Lido Untersee, Bad Goisern

© Kraft

Fri, Aug. 26, 2022 Bad Goisern, Bad Goisern

Sat, Sep. 24, 2022 Festgelände Edt, St. Agatha Bad Goisern

© FF St. Agatha

Sat, Sep. 24, 2022 09:00 Alpine Iglmoos (Iglmoosalm), Gosau

© Kraft

Sat, Nov. 26, 2022 11:00 — 19:00 Homeland museum Gosau, Gosau

Thu, Dec. 1, 2022 09:00 — 18:00 Schnaps & Holz im Badergraben, Wolfengasse 67 Hallstatt

© Janu

Sat, Dec. 3, 2022 09:00 — 18:00 Dachsteinsport Janu, Seestraße 50 Hallstatt

© Krauß/Kraft | Veranstaltungen im Salzkammergut: Krippenausstellung in Hallstatt

Mon, Dec. 5, 2022 18:00 — 23:00 Market square Hallstatt and idyllic streets, Marktplatz Hallstatt

© Kraft | Traditioneller Krampuslauf Hallstatt

Wed, Dec. 7, 2022 19:00 Marketplace Bad Goisern, Marktplatz Bad Goisern

Thu, Dec. 8, 2022 Market Square Hallstatt (Marktplatz Hallstatt), Marktplatz Hallstatt

Sat, Dec. 10, 2022 10:00 — 18:00 Salzkammergut Hand.Werk.Haus, Rudolf-von-Alt-Weg 6 Bad Goisern

Thu, Dec. 22, 2022 10:30 — 17:00 Catholic church Hallstatt, Kirchenweg 40 Hallstatt

© Krauß | Krippenausstellung in Hallstatt

Thu, Jan. 5, 2023 17:00 Town square Obertraun (Gemeindeplatz), Obertraun 180 Obertraun

Thu, Jan. 5, 2023 20:00 Marketplace Bad Goisern, Marktplatz Bad Goisern

Thu, Jun. 8, 2023 09:00 Hallstatt, Hallstatt

Search and Book